Mixed Media Exploration Continues

Trying texture with watery acrylics and used an old earring as a detail.
Trying texture with watery acrylics and used an old earring as a detail.

I am really enjoying these techniques. I think I will use some of them on my new paintings. I have just added this Gesso stencil relief to a background of one of my canvases.

Usually I “roller” colours on or paint in a brown black background before I draw up my focal point. However, I think I will now try this watery technique and gradually build up. This takes a little longer because you have to wait for all the layers to dry but if I have a few pieces on the go I should be able to keep working. The art journal is going to be a fabulous place to try new techniques and procrastinate in a creative way, haha. I am loving it!

I didn’t get my canvas paintings started today because I don’t know what I will be painting yet. This is what I have waiting for me…
DSC_0728

I need a plan and some inspiration before I start with them so I think I will continue to play until I figure it out. This weekend my husband and I will be traveling to Northern Ghana to Sirigu where they have the most fascinating arts and crafts especially stunning basket weaving. I am sure I will come back with plenty of inspiration even if it is just a desire to paint the unique trees.

This is where we are going http://www.swopa.org/ I have booked us two nights there including some pottery, painting and basket weaving classes.

Screen shot 2014-03-02 at 6.42.49 PM

We are also hoping to visit GLish: http://g-lishfoundation.myshopify.com/pages/about-us  

Screen shot 2014-03-02 at 6.46.11 PM

I am really hoping to see the village and meet the ladies who create these stunning pieces. I would even love to take a class with them but am not sure that is an option. Anyway next weekend is going to be very exciting and inspiring for my future paintings. Stay tuned.

One reply to “Mixed Media Exploration Continues

  1. Hello Rebecca, I hope this finds you well and fighting fit. Mark and I have just arrived in San Sebastián,Spain. We are doing the rail bit. Around 17 March we are heading to our place in Bulgaria for about three weeks and then up to Scandinavia to catch up with a couple of girls who did vintage with our son James a few years ago. I still feel sick we did not connect when you were in Bulgaria. Rebecca if ever you get back there, our house is always available for you both. —- Free! We do not have to be there if you want to stay for a while. We are going there again, this year for another three weeks around September 20th. Any chance you will be that way again? I would love to catch up with you somewhere in the world. I have to confess I have not really studied your art. I flip through it but what I see is so connected to Mother Earth and beautiful. I have been painting of the other kind for our daughter Trinity. OMG. Going up and down a ladder both outside and inside her house tired me out. I’m about to run out of internet. Will try to email again soon.

    Xx Wendy

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a comment

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star