It’s Been a While

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

IMG_6177

I have finally decided to get organized and document my art since I have been here in Vietnam. The last post I wrote was quite a few years ago, and a lot has changed.

If you click back to the UAE, China and Ghana galleries you will notice that I have always been fascinated with people, colours, symbols, textures and movement. Many of these elements are still in my work. I will try to get better at documenting my art, but for now I will just add the photos.

IMG_6168

When I have more time, I’ll add a little more about what I was trying to achieve. Life certainly has been busy here in HCMC and I have been loving it. I still haven’t tired of the bike loads, organized chaos, beautiful faces, movement, cluttered alleys, and masses of tangled wires. I wish I could capture how I feel about this city and country but my art isn’t good enough yet. One day I hope to sit back and think YES, this is my life and love of Vietnam on canvas.

IMG_0522

I accidentally bought canvases that were much bigger than I thought they were going to be, but they really inspired me to explore the faces and patterns of SaPa. Since the canvas was larger, I had space to combine textures, rollers and detailed patterns. I still love using the dark background to create contrast, just like my Ghana paintings.

IMG_6183

This is the view from my studio. I love that our place is above the sounds, traffic and organized chaos below. I still really want to communicate the excitement I feel when scooting amongst all the bikes, so this painting is quite unique to my SaPa range.

IMG_6164

IMG_6191

This is one of my favourites as it has the textures, rollers and traffic. The fabrics were simpler and less time-consuming. I adore the jewelry in SaPa so was excited to paint this one.

IMG_6193

IMG_6186

IMG_6187

IMG_6160

The patterns of the fabric were very time consuming so I decided to break free, paint loosely, smaller and spray with water. This was the first one of that style. I still really love this piece.

IMG_6195In my next post I’ll show you where this “watery” style led me. I would still like to pursue this idea combining the gorgeous textured, colourful walls of Hoi An with a seller. It seems to really work on a smaller canvas too.

Leave a comment

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star