Pop Art in Vietnam

IMG_0610

This piece was a landscape demonstration for my grade 8 class. We used the iPads to manipulate the colours and push the symbolism of our work through colour psychology. As you can see the techniques of this painting are very much like my own art, because of the textures and dark background. I really enjoyed pushing the colours and have always LOVED creating digital collages for my holidays. This got me thinking why aren’t I using this for my actual paintings?

IMG_0500

So this was my first one on a small canvas. I used acrylic, charcoal and chalk. I have always wanted to capture the wires and heat of district 10 so that is why I chose this colour scheme, and composition.

I was trying hard to keep the style loose, blocky and expressive, which is hard for me, after all the detailed fabrics. This then got me thinking, what if I revisited all my favourite photos, and manipulated/ layered them into digital collages and then painted it onto canvas? I would have created a painting that demonstrates how I truly feel about the place.

IMG_0611

Hoi An once again! I have always wanted to paint these lanterns and the boats. I loved the divided composition from the bridge. The colours were a challenge due to mixing and muddiness, so I had to work in quite a few layers. Overall, I am very happy with this one.

IMG_0202 A total experimental piece with paint, chalk and pastels. I incorporated the textures, old walls and the ubiquitous bird cages. The dynamic lines represent the song of the bird.

IMG_0903

This was a small piece from earlier on, but I put it down on my next canvas and adored the colour combination. I didn’t attach it but would like to look into “colourfield” backgrounds for smaller paintings next.

IMG_0289

My favourite so far! This is what the green and purple background was for. I am so happy with the tranquility of this piece as it truly captures how I feel about Ninh Binh. My favourite place to relax in Vietnam so far. I don’t think I can sell this painting.

IMG_1572.JPGWork in progress. I have just about finished this piece, which is a fabulous memory of a staycation in the Caravelle hotel. In the next post I’ll share my digital collages and recent two paintings. I do love pushing the colours but might try to combine this with my drip, drop and splatter style next. I miss having the textures too.

Over the Christmas holidays I am hoping to paint for a couple of weeks and will then look to display my art around town.

 

Leave a comment

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star