My New Favourite

DSC_0580

I painted this a couple of weeks ago and am really happy with it. I love the layering of the colours. I particularly like the woman’s hair and earring, I am not sure why. This time I incorporated the textures from previous paintings and brought the background colour into the child and woman so that they have an incomplete feel. I love the contrast of the cool blues on the deep red brown tones. This piece inspired the piece I painted today. I have never been good at faces but they really appeal to me so I am persisting with the challenge. I want my faces to look fairly realistic but more expressive through the use of bright colours. I really like the combination of the texture and realism. I think I might keep this one as it is a bit of a break through in my style. I am keen to know what you think.

Leave a comment

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star