Boats from Elmina Castle

DSC_0641

Here is a very different painting for me. I have been wanting to paint the boats for a long time. This is actually my biggest canvas yet. I have combined techniques from my past and present paintings. For the texture in the boats I used a paint knife and dry brushing (just like in my old wall paintings). The sand was created with a texture grainy gel while the soft colours were applied with rollers. I really love this technique as it picks up the textures of the layers underneath. I have 4 small paintings left to paint this week and then that is everything that I am putting into the exhibition. Any other canvases will be for next year. I am really happy that I got the chance to complete this painting yesterday.

Leave a comment

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star