Into the Storm

Inspired from the previous painting “Life in a Coracle” subtle clouds, I decided to incorporate more defined, heavy clouds, that I see regularly from my rooftop.  I love watching the storms roll in and the weight of the clouds as they seem to hang in the sky. I kept the yellow glow to represent hope and optimism despite everything going on right now in the world. The clouds are heavy but they aren’t threatening. Since the clouds were more detailed I wanted nothing to distract under them which is why I used the black base. This also helped with the contrast between the figure and the background. I love how she is confidently walking towards the unknown.   

Inspiration:  Hoi An and the clouds are from our rooftop moving over D1 into D7.

Inspiration:  On my way to work and the storm was from our rooftop. 

Leave a comment

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star