Its Painting Day Today

Traveling Home, Nov 2011

I am back onto the beaches now. This piece was originally going to be realistic but I found the image to be a bit boring and didn’t like the way the people were looking so I layered the colours to get a more Impressionist feel. Which is actually a goal of mine.

I have seen some paintings here in Ghana which incorporate gorgeous layered paint effects. I’d really like to learn that style and apply them to all my pieces. There is something really exciting to me about the flicked, dragged, and sponged paint.  It is actually like another interpretation of my final UAE paintings!

I am going to have another attempt with the same style but I’d like to try and get brighter.

Leave a comment

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star