Solitude in the Market

Solitude in the Market

This is my first proper painting of an African face and I am really happy with it. She looks very peaceful despite the crowd behind her. I am really enjoying my market series as it is a chance to play with complimentary colours. I am surprised how dark my market scenes are turning out but I really like them. I will venture into some brighter ones soon. It would mean that I’d have to paint the base a brighter background colour first. Again I have added some of my favourite symbols which symbolize knowledge, learning from the past, friendship, greatness, quality and spirituality. I still love using the symbols because I enjoy their designs,  meanings and also I like how it makes my paintings very Ghanaian.

This is what my studio is looking like as it is a great way to see the scale of the paintings. I now have 19 paintings and am about to buy some more canvases. I need a gallery space VERY soon.

The Studio, March 2012

Leave a comment

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star