Inspiration from James Town

On Saturday a few friends and I took four students to James Town for a street art festival which was a fabulous experience. There were artists, performers, acrobats, poets, dancers performing side by side. The event was huge and ran from 11am-11pm. The location was absolutely sunning being one of the oldest areas in Accra right on the sea. This time I decided to use bright colours to capture the walls which seem to tell their own stories. My running theme seems to be daily life or strength of the workers in Ghana.

I added the Adinkra symbol to link this painting to my other paintings. The symbol celebrates unity through diversity. I really love the design of this one. I haven’t used it before because it is a bit complicated. I am really happy with my peeling posters on the walls too. I think this is one of my personal favourites so far!

2 replies to “Inspiration from James Town

Leave a comment

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star