I Am Back Painting

Motherly Love-Acrylics on Canvas, Oct 2012

This is the first painting I have produced since being back in Ghana. I am thrilled to be painting again even though the end product was not what I was really thinking of doing. It may sound strange but I never really know what my work is going to look like in the end.

Just so you know why there was such a large break or in case you have just joined this Blog. Last May I had my first art exhibition here in Ghana. Despite the lack of sales it was still a huge success and the first time I have really been respected as an artist and a teacher. As I am currently teaching art in an international school in Ghana I had a big summer break from June-August where my husband and I traveled to Italy, Croatia and Slovenia.

I am back now in Ghana, it has taken some time to get my brushes out again. However, every time I get out and about and surround myself with the gorgeous people, fabrics, beads, music, and sunsets I am inspired to paint. There are so many things I want to capture that I don’t know where to start. As any working artist knows it is VERY difficult to paint after a busy day at work so my main painting days have been Sundays. I wish I could do so much more but I am also juggling yoga, zumba, drumming and various groups at school so it is all about balance. I have actually just introduced a group at school called “art for the soul” where the teachers will be able to come and play with arts and crafts inspired by Ghana. I figured that was one way to make me CREATE.

I am also on a mission to meet local artists here in Ghana. It would be amazing to hear their thoughts on contemporary art in Ghana and I’d love to see their techniques. That is my goal this year…to find 5 local artists who I click with and can be inspired by. I feel like something is missing when I am not painting, it would be fabulous to exhibit or work with others who felt the same way. The tough part for me is always beginning, especially when I don’t have a set style. Last year I loved my markets, close ups and textured walls but this year I would like to explore more mixed media techniques which will incorporate media found around Ghana like the beads, fabrics and anything else I can think of. Maybe even some of the plastic trash. As all my art is pretty much self taught I am going to have to experiment with a variety of techniques- from weaving, beading, batiking to fabric tying as I think these skills will really enhance my future art works.

This painting is a little start towards that direction as I have used some embossed foil, texture paste, beads and glue. This is actually the first time I have painted an expressionist portrait. I am really happy with the limited colour scheme. The warmth of the colours seem to enhance the warmth of the hug. I adore the expression of the mother as she looks truly at bliss. Everything in her life is about this child, there is no love stronger. I really hope you like it. Please let me know what you think.

6 replies to “I Am Back Painting

  1. Hi Rebecca
    Don’t have a heart attack. It’s actually me replying. I am in Adelaide…but only for a few days, before I fly to Queenstown in New Zealand for two weeks to renovate a bathroom.
    I really like this one Rebecca. It would make a lovely gift for a mother to give her daughter on the arrival of her first baby. No such luck in our family yet. Trinity has been stuck in New York for several days with all the terrible drama there but she’s fine. At least she had a hotel for three nights and didn’t have to deal with sleeping on the airport floor.
    I’ve been doing a bit of painting lately too…. the house type. (sadly I don’t have your talent and I’m in awe of the way you express everything). The house we inherited on the vineyard has always been painted that boring mission brown so we have painted all the gutters, fascias and verandah posts a lovely greyish colour called monument and given the front and back doors a facelift with a grey/blue coat of paint.
    I think we were inspired by a recent trip to the northern Flinders Ranges where we camped at Warraweena Station. You may have heard of this place (Operation Flinders) where they regularly take small groups of wayward kids and teach them respect, survival, empathy etc . At the end of the camp the kids have to hike to Mt Hack and leave a stone on top of the cairn. The stone symbolised leaving their ratty past behind and a new life is ahead of them. The six of us took two 4WD vehicles on one of their designated tracks and went up to Mt Gill. Wow! What a magnificent 360 degree view. We took a couple of days coming back to Adelaide exploring lots of old derelict towns. So sad. So many gorgeous buildings uninhabited.
    Have to go…. I’m relieving today at the office.
    Love
    Wendy Hastwell

    1. Wow it is amazing to hear from you, it has been a very long time. We are thinking of traveling to Bulgaria and you always pop into my mind. Thanks so much for the update. I really do appreciate it.

  2. My wife and I have recently moved to Accra, and I did an internet search for artists in the area and your name came up in the search. I would love to get to know some of the local artists in town as well. My website is listed if you’d like to take a look, and send me a message if you’d like to talk art in the future.

    1. I would love to meet up sometime. I am going to an art opening at Aliance Francaise on 7th Nov. Maybe we could meet there? If not then Nubuke in East Legon on the 24th Nov for another opening. Your website is lovely fabulous artworks. Welcome to Accra. I am glad you found me. 🙂

Leave a comment

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star