An Inspiration From an Exhibit

DSC_0589

This is a VERY different piece for me. I went to an amazing exhibition at Nubuke, East Legon. It consisted of 9 Nigerian artists but one really struck me. He used newspaper and often a white and grey colour scheme. The words were profound and painting was intriguing. I have always been fascinated by collage so thought I’d give it a try. Through the use of the text and grey I have given my market scene quite a different feel. My friend’s father had recently died so I was thinking of her when I chose the text. This was an older canvas which I had reworked but never really liked the result so it now consists of layers and layers of texture and colour. I am much happier with it now and quite like the mood. My husband thought I was trying to tell him something.

Leave a comment

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star