Waste Not, Want Not

DSC_0591

I know this is also completely different for me but I had a tray of paint which I needed to clean up and thought why not create artificial texture through the use of rollers, card, knives and bubble wrap. I created three backgrounds like this and waited for the paint to tell me what I should add. For some reason this idea came to me. The fertility doll is from one I have at home. I have been meaning to paint it for a long time now. I loved the fact that the design of this canvas came from within and from not wanting to waste paint. I exaggerated the chin on the woman so that she had an African profile. The circular design was actually inspired from my mask which I bought in Venice as it had Klimt patterns all over it. The circles added interest, pattern and most importantly movement. The reds and yellows really make me think of Africa.

Leave a comment

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star