Fish Seller

DSC_0474

This is the painting I created today. I have decided that I still love the textures and dark backgrounds which contrast with the bright colours. I have had this canvas for a very long time because I never knew what to paint on it and what to do with the white space. Now that it is complete I actually really like the space however, I am undecided as whether to leave it or not. I was originally thinking of putting a mirror in it or a weaving  fabric, yarn and beads. This would take a lot more time.

Overall I am very happy with the colour scheme and love the addition of the textured roller because it reminds me of the fabric designs here in Ghana. I still really enjoy capturing daily life and having a single focal point. The movement has been created by using the edge of the roller. I really liked the effect because it reminded me of the ipad art that I was playing with a little while ago. I have also been playing with the “unfinished” look which appears in her skirt. I hope you like it.

Leave a comment

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star