Back To The Markets

1450279_10151807436643889_1423657498_n

I am really happy with this piece and am thinking I will do a few more following this theme and concept. I really love the fabrics here in Ghana and am always looking for interesting ways to incorporate them into my work.

This piece was inspired from a photo I took at a festival a few weeks ago. I painted the lady but wasn’t sure what to do with the rest. I finally decided to put a piece of wire into a folded piece of fabric and made a mini sculpture. This painting would be much harder to transport because of the fabric sticking out so I don’t think I can do too many of them even though I do love it.

I really like how my work is changing each time I paint.  I definitely have my favourite themes and styles though. Boats and markets have the colour, texture, beauty which I am keen to capture from this fascinating country. This time I tried to keep a limited complimentary colour scheme which I think works very well if I do say so myself. I have also introduced a patterned roller to create texture and pattern. It reminds me of the fabric designs. I think I will use this again next time.

Overall I really am very happy with how my paintings have developed here. Leaving Ghana does make me sad yet determined to paint and capture as much as I can. I hope you like it.

Leave a comment

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star