My Last Trees From Ghana

DSC_0032

This is a painting with a difference. I have wanted to paint this since our beach trip October last year. It was inspired from a photo I took looking at the sunset between the palm trees at Beyin. Again I applied Gesso over the canvas, painted yellow and orange into the Gesso and then smudged it with my hands. While the paint was wet I drew in the trees and added extra colour with chalks. Its a combination of chalks and paint If I had black ink or black thick house paint I would have dribbled that on top too. It is only a small piece but is quite striking. Here is a photo of my wall to show the scale of the paintings in relation to each other.

Three on a wall

Leave a comment

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star